Here you'll find the Palettes and Patterns to help make the best creative digital art decisions.

Channels»Digital Art»Forums»Business»The High ROI of Color»What Can I Do?

Join in the Colorful Conversations

Looking for answers to your color questions, have some advice to give... or simply want to get to know your fellow COLOURlovers? You're in the right place.

What Can I Do?

Create New Topic
Showing 1 - 6 of 6 Comments
Please forgive me if there is already a thread on this topic, but here's the thing:

I'm not a designer at all. I'm a freelance writer. However, I've discovered this site, I'm finding that not only do I love creating palettes, I'm quite good at it. I've created and named several colors so far.

Being the writing entrepreneur that I am, I'm wondering that if I can sell my writing work, there should be a way to sell my color palettes, right?

Or, am I wrong? Are there entities out there that might be interested in buying my palettes? Is there anyway to monetize my love of color, without my having to go to design school?

Here's another thing I just thought of: Cosmetics companies are always naming their color palettes, right? How might I contact some of these companies, so that I might name some of their colors? That way, I can combine my love of color with my flair for creative writing/titling?
This is a touchy topic. Licensing rights for our palettes dictate that we can sell our palettes, but, honestly, I don't see many companies being interested in anything we amateur COLOURlovers create. Even if they were, I doubt the money they'd be willing to pay would be worth it.
They hire fancy schmancy design agencies to create palettes for them and the people who work for those agencies have years of experience and loads of credentials. It also requires a flair for being original and innovative. Otherwise, people don't get very far in the industry.