Join in the Colorful Conversations

Looking for answers to your color questions, have some advice to give... or simply want to get to know your fellow COLOURlovers? You're in the right place.

Forums»Color Talk»Lover's Lounge»Patterns: What May I Use Them For?

Patterns: What May I Use Them For?

Create New Topic
Showing 1 - 8 of 8 Comments

wellowlbe

I'm pretty new to actually USING CL for much of anything other than random eye candy and visual inspiration. I recently discovered the whole "color a pattern" deal and that's a pretty cool feature.

HOWEVER, I'm a writer by trade. I really GET copyright infringement. I'm confused about patterns. I'm able to color a pattern, give credit to the creator of the pattern (and creator of the palette if I use a specific palette), I'm offered the feature of downloading the palette, but it has a CL watermark on it. Am I allowed to use a pattern colored on CL or not?

I don't want to use any material I'm not allowed to. I've seen lots of threads here about "stolen material."

EverydayMiracles

As I understand it, the material is "stolen" when it breaks the creative commons license, which is listed on every one of the items that you'll find on CL. In general, the license allows for the use of an item provided that full credit is given to the person who created it. There appears to be some debate over what "credit" means, but the safest bet is always to include a link back to the profile of the person who created the content. That's how I do it, and I've used a couple of palettes here in HTML/CSS templates for use in role playing games.

In the majority of cases, the item may not be used for commercial use (unless the license is changed by the creator).

That being said, I'm also terribly confused by this. Unless an item is marked as "all rights reserved" (which is NOT automatic, by the way), then it should be usable provided that credit is given to the creator, in accordance with the creative commons.